Top 5 Things I’m Looking Forward to During Spring Break

Spring; flowers are blooming and the sun is shining. As Sitting Bull would say, “The earth has gladly received the embraces of the sun, and we shall soon see the results of their love.” Spring Break is rapidly approaching; meaning that there’s only two more full months of school. Summer will be here before we know it, in the meantime we can enjoy the lovely spring weather before we get blistering heat. There’s plenty to do here in sunny Southern California. I’ve compiled a list of the top five activities I’m looking forward to doing during my break.

  1. Paddleboarding

Paddleboarding is an active, yet relaxing activity. It’s fun to do with friends, family, or even by yourself. You can relax outdoors and feel the nice breeze of the ocean, while soaking in the sun. If you stand, its more challenging and could even be a vigorous exercise. If you would rather unwind, try paddleboarding on your knees or even sitting down. My family and I went to a local boat harbor to paddleboard, we rented the boards for $20 for two hours. I even saved the life of a boy whose sailboat capsized (might be a slight exaggeration)!IMG_4601

  1. Snowboarding

I know what you’re thinking, snowboarding in the springtime? Oh yes, snowboarding in the springtime. Spring Break is a little earlier this year, the slopes still have snow and they are less crowded now since its after winter break. I’m just a beginner at snowboarding however, ‘If I died snowboarding, you could honestly tell everybody in the world that [I] died happy.”

  1. Hiking

Hiking is such a great opportunity to explore the outdoors and get some fresh air. Getting to the top of a trail has to be one of the best feelings in the world. Hiking has “nothing to do with gear or footwear . . . or even with getting from point A to point B.” Hiking trails offer endless lagniappes; in particular the scenery and the direct contact with nature. Whenever I’m on a new trail, I love observing all the different kind of trees, flowers, sometimes even animals! To hike is to  “walk for miles with no reason other than to witness the accumulation of trees and meadows, mountains and deserts, streams and rocks, rivers and grasses.” Hiking  is always a powerful and fundamental experience (Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail).

  1. Jetskiing

I’ve only been jetskiing once, but I hope to do it again during Spring Break. Jetskiing is hands-down, one of the coolest experiences. You almost feel like you’re flying, gliding through the air, just barely skimming the water. Oh wait, that’s actually what happens! Speeding on a jet ski is a feeling unlike any other. You have to grip on to the person driving you to avoid falling into the water, holding on while going 20-30 mph is not an easy task.IMG_4702

  1. Trip to Hawaii

Last and definitely not least, I’m going to vacation in the beautiful, tropical island of Oahu! I’ll be sure to write more about it when I come home. I’ll be surfing, swimming, tanning, and even swimming with dolphins! Life doesn’t get much better than this.

Leave a Reply

